SR-22 vs FR-44
One extra letter, and in Florida it triples the liability limits your policy has to carry. If your case was a DUI in Florida or Virginia, every SR-22 quote you have collected so far is for the wrong product.
Two states, one extra letter, three times the limits
Florida and Virginia both use a second certificate, the FR-44, for drivers whose requirement came out of a driving-under-the-influence case. Everywhere else, and in those two states for every other trigger, the form is an SR-22.
The difference is not administrative. The FR-44 certifies materially higher liability limits than the same state's ordinary minimum, which means the policy underneath it is a different product at a different price. Someone shopping for “SR-22 insurance in Florida” after a DUI is collecting quotes that will not satisfy their notice.
| State | Form | Short | Per person | Per crash | Property | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | FR-44 (DUI) | 100/300/50 | $100,000 | $300,000 | $50,000 | Fla. Stat. sec. 324.023 |
| Virginia | ordinary minimum | 50/100/25 | $50,000 | $100,000 | $25,000 | Va. Code sec. 46.2-472(B) |
| California | SR-22 comparison | 30/60/15 | $30,000 | $60,000 | $15,000 | Cal. Veh. Code sec. 16430(a) |
What this site can and cannot tell you about Virginia
An honest limit, stated plainly. Virginia's ordinary minimum has been read from the statute and is in the table above: $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident / $25,000 property damage, for policies effective on or after 1 January 2025.
Va. Code sec. 46.2-472(B) · policies effective on or after January 1, 2025
Subsection (A) of the same section still carries the $30,000/$60,000/$20,000 figures that applied to policies effective between January 1, 2022 and December 31, 2024. Both sets of numbers are live text in the same section, which is exactly how a stale figure gets copied.
State’s own copy of this section: https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter3/section46.2-472/
Virginia's FR-44 amounts are a different provision, and the build host could not reach law.lis.virginia.gov to read it. So this page does not state Virginia FR-44 figures. Not an approximation, not a figure carried over from a competitor page. If you need them, the Virginia DMV notice you received is the authority, and the section above is where the ordinary minimum sits.
The same rule produced the Florida numbers, which were read, from the Florida Senate's own copy of the statute:
Fla. Stat. sec. 324.023 · 2024 Florida Statutes, including 2025C
Applies to anyone found guilty of, or who pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, driving under the influence under s. 316.193 after October 1, 2007 — “regardless of adjudication of guilt.”
Why Virginia is the more interesting half of this table
Look at what subsection (A) of the Virginia section still says. It carries the $30,000 / $60,000 / $20,000 figures that applied to policies effective between 1 January 2022 and 31 December 2024. Subsection (B) carries the current ones. Both are live text in the same section of the code.
This is the mechanism by which stale figures propagate. A person, a scraper or a model reading that section quickly has a genuine chance of returning the superseded numbers, because they are right there, in the same place, correctly formatted, and not marked as expired in any way a machine would notice. It is the same failure that put 15/30/5 on half the California SR-22 pages on the internet.
The defense is not cleverness. It is tagging every figure with the date it belongs to, which is what the effective date tag next to every citation on this site is for.
What changes in practice when it is an FR-44
Three things, in descending order of how much they cost you.
The premium. You are buying $100,000 of bodily-injury cover per person rather than the ordinary state minimum, from a carrier that has priced a DUI disposition. Those two facts compound.
The market. The set of carriers willing to write at FR-44 limits for a driver in this position is smaller than the set willing to write an SR-22. Fewer quotes, wider spread.
The comparison. Quotes are only comparable if every one of them is at 100/300/50. An agency that quotes the ordinary minimum and mentions the filing afterwards has not quoted your product, and the number will move when it is corrected.
One thing that does not change
Who files it. An FR-44 is filed by an insurer with the state, exactly like an SR-22, and cannot be filed by you. The letter on the form changes the amounts, not the mechanism.
Common questions
What is the difference between an SR-22 and an FR-44?
The amounts. Both are certificates an insurer files with the state. Florida and Virginia use the FR-44 for driving-under-the-influence cases, at limits well above the ordinary state minimum.
Which states use the FR-44?
Florida and Virginia. Every other state that uses a certificate of this kind uses an SR-22.
What limits does a Florida FR-44 certify?
$100,000 per person, $300,000 per crash and $50,000 property damage, under Fla. Stat. section 324.023.
What limits does a Virginia FR-44 certify?
This site has not read the Virginia FR-44 provision from a primary source and therefore does not state a figure. Virginia's ordinary minimum, which has been read, is $50,000/$100,000/$25,000 for policies effective on or after 1 January 2025.
Can I file an FR-44 myself?
No, for the same reason as an SR-22: it is filed by an insurer with the state.
Sources cited on this page
Every figure above was read from the source it is attributed to on September 19, 2026. How we check this.